The ‘Blue’ in School

I had no idea that the Ancient Greeks had no word for the colour blue until I read a review on one of Brene Brown’s books and there was a reference to Kevin Loria’s article in Business Insider UK. And it seems that these ancient peoples were not alone – Hebrew, Chinese, Icelandic.

And that got me thinking. I often struggle to find the right language to explain something new. Being in therapy was very much trying to find the language to explain what I was going through and beginning to name feelings. I didn’t realise I had so many! A new feeling, an epiphany, a breakthrough, a struggle, a re-imagining. So that’s why this is the School Of Blue. Blue is the journey, both personally and professionally. And so this blog is very much about breakthroughs and coming through a space that that is uncomfortable and disruptive. It is the liminal space of not knowing to the knowing. It may not be even a re-awakening because I may not have seen it this way before.

It’s about the way that humans see the world and how until we have a way to describe something, even something so fundamental as a color, we may not even notice that it’s there.

Kevin Loria

This is, therefore, a journey of exploration, a stepping out into the great unknown and using contemporary teachers and writers, historical wisdom and thinking and talking to people, I am in the learning school of blue. Perhaps we can find the language together. I am willing to learn, and I hope you are too.

20140406_185828

Blue at sunset

Leave a Reply

