Just is

Poetry is the place where there is a chance to make some sort of sense of things. I am struck how a poet is thinking what I am thinking or tugs at a mood that allows a breaking open. It offers a being present and a widening lens of the human experience. I can be in a valley at the same moment experiencing the summit of an invitation for other conclusions. It ‘forces us to be alert to the possibility of the moment, to experience and capture it fully’.[1] And, if it doesn’t, it starts the journey for us, deepens the path, deepens the wind as we walk along the shoreline of hope and brings an awareness of what we are/ have been going through. I love how it offers the angle of light, alternatives, second chances – and is not afraid to call out our delusions. It works at our feelings of smallness without acting big. It doesn’t see me as a project to save me or fix me. It touches those parts of me that I can’t reach. It helps to free me and understands what obstructs the mind. It just is.


[1] Anthony Joseph

From Out with lanterns (extract – chapter 3) click here

2 thoughts on “Just is

Comments are closed.